And All The Universe Conspired

And, when you want something,
all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.
– Paulo Coehlo’s The Alchemist

The whole day was some kind of a roller coaster kind of expectations. The moment I stepped foot at my old college, I had these tiny butterflies swarming inside my tummy at the probabilities of bumping into some of my favourite people, including him. I haven’t seen him since I graduated last October, but his send-away videos when I left for Japan and the constant bringing up of his name in conversations with my friends made me want to see him again.

The excitement suddenly died down when my friend told me that he already went home. I had to admit that I was deflated by it. I don’t really get the chance to visit because of my work and transportation; and now on the day I finally got everything right, he wasn’t around. I had no choice but to accept it despite the constant buzzing in my ear, whispering “wrong timing” and “I really wanted to see him” over and over again.

In the afternoon, when the buzzing somehow softened and I have almost moved on from my disappointment, I got a call from a friend saying she saw him. It was a jolt of electricity in my veins, a spark of hope, waking me up. It was childish and a bit desperate, but I hurriedly went to the place where my friend saw him, but when I got there, we couldn’t find him anymore. “He was just here a minute before you arrived,” my friend said. Damn, I thought. Knowing that he was around, I had the urge to just message him on Facebook and tell him I visited. But it seemed silly to me to make that kind of effort. Also, I have always been a strong believer of timing – if we were supposed to meet, I wouldn’t have to try so hard. I wanted our paths to cross without having to force it to happen. I know, I know, I am sillier.

Night came, and my friends and I went to our usual pub. I know he wasn’t the type to hang out at such place, so I completely gave up on seeing him. 2 beers after, he walked inside the room. I remember my best friend running to me to tell the news. She didn’t know I already had my eyes on him. I guess he also had his on me, because he walked to our table, in that blue shirt I like and with a smile that made the waiting worth it.

We didn’t end up together after that night and our lives continued on as they were. But I’m still thankful that in some way, the universe cooperated in intertwining our worlds, even for just a fleeting moment.

And All The Universe Conspired

Leave a Reply

