I Want

I want it to be you –
who I tell about how boring my day was or why the sun was on my side for a change. Who I run to with every news, both the good and bad. Who I watch the sunset with every day, and learn with the histories of constellations etched in our bodies, our soul. The one who I’ll lay all my defences for.
.
I want it to be you –
who stays through my mood storms, and pulls me back when I get lost in the hurricanes I conjure in my mind. Whose voice drives away the ghosts of yesterday and calms the waves of anxiety inside my chest. Whose touch makes my scars want to bloom. The one who’ll make me forget, make me believe again.
.
I want it to be you –
I leave my footprints with, forever reminding the earth of a love made possible. Who I face tomorrows with, no matter the weather. The one standing next to me when I reach for the sky.
.
And if the end is inevitable,
I still want it to be you –
who gets to break my heart, knowing everything was worth it.
I Want

Leave a Reply

