Almost Forgetting

My nights almost passed without our ghost haunting me
I almost forgot you
I almost stopped wishing you were here
almost climbed out of the rabbit hole,
almost
.
But your timing is right this time,
always on days when I stopped missing you
always when I’ve taken a step forward
you tap me on the shoulder as if saying,
hey, look back, don’t forget me
and I wonder how you know when to pull be back
.
My friends say, don’t respond
just walk away
but I never listen
I still answer, always
Why are we doing this now?
.
I almost gave up on our closure
after all the forced goodbyes
after the betrayal and years of silence
after the rebuilding of my walls
yet here we are as if none of the
wreckage ever happened
Almost Forgetting

Leave a Reply

