calling bs on distance

They say –
distance makes the
heart go fonder.
Well I say –
that’s bullshit
.
a lie
people tell
to paint distance
into something beautiful,
gentler
.
bullshit
because it gets lonely
.
I post a picture of myself,
looking happy
(or at least pretending to be),
and I wait for your name
to pop out
.
“how are you?”
“I’ve missed you.”
(I’ve missed you too)
stupid
.
heart, constantly longing
to hear your voice
to taste your mouth
and to feel your touch
(what else am I to do with
these days of silence?)
how do you fill in the space?
.
bring me back
to the time when
we survived even
the time difference
.
because really,
all this distance is nothing,
if we wanted to
there’s no need for this
 .
if only your heart
looks for mine
too
calling bs on distance

Leave a Reply

